MusicWeb International

    “All in all, this most welcome disk will be of considerable interest to those of us who love to investigate the byways of the music of the late 19th and early 20th Century…”


  •  MusicWeb International, Jim Westhead,  May 2022

MusicWeb International

    “.. as all the music on this disc is highly distinctive and hugely enjoyable. Meantime, the present release is recommended with much enthusiasm as is, at long last, the music of Thomas de Hartmann in general.”


  •  MusicWeb International, Lee Denham,  April 2022

Fabulous de Hartmann Premieres on Toccata from Kuchar and the Lviv Philharmonic

    “I have no hesitation in regarding this release as one of the great discoveries of recent years. Thomas de Hartmann was the real deal.”


  • Classics Today, David Hurwitz,  March 2022

International Piano

    • “Together, these discs provide an unmissable survey of a composer whose music calls out for much wider exposure. Sicroff’s expertise is invaluable and his pianistic prowess second to none. ”


  • Colin Clarke, International Piano, July 2021

Gramophone Review: Thomas de Hartmann Project CDs, released by Nimbus Alliance Records

  • “The performances are uniformly of the highest quality…all the musicians consistently sound as though they relished Hartmann’s idiomatically conceived, sometimes sinuous melodies. If I had to recommend just one performance, it would be Janssen and Sicroff’s of the magnificent Cello Sonata, one of the finest for the instrument penned in the 20th century…an unalloyed masterpiece with a wonderful variation set at its centre. A revelation.”
  • Guy Rickards, Gramophone, July 2021

The Piano Music of de Hartmann

  • “Sicroff is a fine pianist who brings out the best in each work on this set. This is a fine introduction to de Hartmann’s music and a valuable contribution to the history of 20th-century music.”  link to article
  • Lynn René Bayley, Art Music Lounge, March 25, 2021

Piano Music MWI Woolf

  • “Elan Sicroff proves an exceptional exponent of a sometimes bewilderingly diverse range of musical influences – from the nineteenth century via the salon and thence to Scriabin, Stravinsky, and perhaps a little Bartók. These represent, at least, some of the staging posts of de Hartmann’s musical journey…” Link to article…
  • Jonathan Woolf, Music Web International, May 2021

De Hartmann’s Chamber Music

  • “…the de Hartmann Project has done the world an immense service in finally presenting a somewhat orderly and in-depth look at this talented composer whose work has been not only vastly underrated but almost wholly ignored by the rest of the classical music world.” Link to article
  • Lynn René Bayley, Art Music Lounge, March 28, 2021

The Piano Music reviewed by Music Web International

  • “I came to this collection with no expectations, not until now having been particularly aware of Thomas de Hartmann’s piano music. This is a brilliant survey, superbly played and recorded, of some tremendously worthwhile music.”  Link to article
  • Dominy Clements, Music Web International, March 2021

De Hartmann’s Songs

  • “I must give producer Gert-Jan Blom a pat on the back for using singers who can actually sing, who have good, firm voices, good musical style and, best of all, clear diction.” Link to article
  • Lynn René Bayley, Art Music Lounge, March 25, 2021

Songs MWI Clements

  • “…superbly performed and full of strikingly well composed songs, this is a collection that deserves its place on every collector’s shelf, of this or any genre.” Link to article
  • Dominy Clements, Music Web International, March 2021

Chamber Music MWI Clements

  • “The Trio for Flute Violin and Piano Op. 75 is a stunning work with which to end this Nimbus introduction to the music of Thomas de Hartmann, and I would urge everyone to find out just how good it all is for themselves.” Link to article
  • Dominy Clements, Music Web International, March 2021

Music Frames Songs

  • “Pianist Elan Sicroff plays all the piano parts. He has a subtle touch which makes the music sound graceful and smooth..certainly the combination with singer Nina Lejderman is stunning and very beautiful.”  Link to article
  • Mattie Poels, Music Frames, December 13th 2016

Klassieke Zaken Box

  • “A Jewel…after listening to all seven cd’s one can’t help but wonder: how could such gorgeous music have been forgotten?”
  • Oswin Schneeweisz, Klassieke Zaken, 25 November 2016

De Volkskrant

  • “Sicroff has the talent of presenting de Hartmann’s pianistic perfume, as well as the inherent meaning of his music in a wonderful way. With musical collaborators like sopranos Claron McFadden and Nina Lejderman, flutist Ingrid Geerlings and violinist Joris van Rijn (among others) the calibre of the recordings is guaranteed.”
  • Frits van der Waa, De Volkskrant, November 11th 2016

Luister Magazine

  • “It must be said: this is, almost without exception, gorgeous and necessary music. I find I keep reaching for this little treasure-trove of a box with songs, chamber music and piano music.” 
  • Jurjen Vis, Luister Magazine, Issue No. 719, November 2016


  • “It’s not often that one encounters such meticulous love and commitment for a project as that dedicated to the Russian composer Thomas de Hartmann by the Dutch label Basta… The lion’s share of this monumental project belongs to the pianist, Elan Sicroff, whose interpretations are both technically brilliant and reveal a playful imagination.”
  • Remy Frank, Pizzicato, 12 October, 2016